DIY gifts #2

IMG_1806

My dance group went to Bolzano, Italy in July, to participate in an international dance competition. Since May, we have been burning most of our weekends to practice for this competition and I really thank God that all the hard work paid off. So, to commemorate this trip and experience, I decided to make them some cups with their initials on.

I got the mugs from Ikea for $3.90 each, and I used the GLASpainter from Marabu that I bought from ArtFriend to dot the background.

IMG_1798

So, as you can see from the picture, I pasted letter stickers onto the mug first, then dotted the surrounding area. I used green and red mainly cause the flag of Italy consist of green, white and red. Once the ink dried, I peeled of the letters, and baked the cup for approximately half an hour at 170˚C.

Some things that you might want to note and could be improved:

  1. When I tried to peel off the sticker, some of the dots came out with it, causing me to lose the shape of the letters. So it might be better to use a penknife and try to cut those dots that are overlapping the sticker first. But you would most likely still have to touch up.
  2. The letter stickers shouldn’t be too thick. I thought mine was a bit too thick and would have been nicer with thinner letters.
  3. It is important to make sure the dots nearer to the letters are denser/more concentrated. This would help give a better effect.
  4. One of the batches that I baked, the heat was too strong, causing the red to change to orange. However, once it cooled, the color changed back to red. I thought you might want to know that so you won’t freak out like I did. ((:

That’s about all I have to share. If you have any other concerns/enquiries, feel free to leave a comment or contact me! ((:

Leave a Reply

